# Alamo Area Council of Governments Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting November 13, 2024 – 1:30 pm AACOG 2700 NE Loop 410, Ste. 101, San Antonio, TX 78217

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- 1. Ms. Hattie Allen
- 2. Ms. Glennda Wilke for Ms. Nicole Bishop
- 3. Ms. Alma Baker for Captain Danny Bowermaster
- 4. Ms. Lisa Brothers
- 5. Judge Rochelle Camacho
- 6. Dr. David Carrothers
- 7. Ms. Rori Boone for Dr. Allen Castro
- 8. Chief Linette Dury
- 9. Ms. Vickie Ernst and Ms. Jennifer Forbes
- 10. Ms. Andrea Goff-Fontanes
- 11. Deputy Robert Guerrero
- 12. Chief Matthew Haynie
- 13. Lt. Mary Krebs and Constable Paul Gonzales
- 14. Ms. Rosa Lavender
- 15. Lt. Brian Pehl for Sheriff Buddy Mills
- 16. Ms. Vickie Adams for Ms. Abigail Moore
- 17. Deputy Chief Armando Olguin
- 18. Ms. Melissa Padron and Ms. Marina Garcia
- 19. Chief Deputy Gilbert Rodriguez and Chief Justin Soza
- 20. Mr. Jeffrey McLaughlin for Captain Michael Starnes
- 21. Ms. Eladia Torres
- 22. Ms. Kayla Trigo Prado for Ms. Brenda Trevino
- 23. Ms. Samantha Wohler and Ms. Amber Palmer

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

- 1. Mr. Bryce Boddie
- 2. Mr. Mike Davis
- 3. Chief Henry Dominguez
- 4. D.A. Joe Gonzalez
- 5. Ms. Jelynne LeBlanc Jamison
- 6. Chief Lewis Lem
- 7. Major Matthew Miller
- 8. Chief Deputy Joshua Ray
- 9. Captain Jerry Rios

### STAFF PRESENT:

- 1. Ms. Marcela Medina, Public Safety Manager
- 2. Ms. Laura Richardson, Public Safety Specialist
- 3. Mr. Justin Monarez, Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator
- 4. Ms. Cami Goldspink, Criminal Justice Planner
- 1. Meeting was called to order at 1:35 by Ms. Hattie Allen Chair.
- 2. Roll Call was taken by Ms. Laura Richardson and a quorum was established.

#### 3. Public Comments:

There were no public comments.

# 4. Consider and act upon approval of the October 9<sup>th</sup>, 2024, Minutes.

A motion was made by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** and seconded by **Chief Linette Dury** to accept the above minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

#### 5. Presentations:

## SART Implementation- Somayeh Kolb, Director of Programs, AARCC

SART is: 476 (87R) requires all Texas counties to form an adult Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) in an effort to create a statewide infrastructure of resources, awareness, connection, and coordination to address sex crimes locally. A SART is a formalized coordinated response to a sexual assault that allows multi-disciplinary professionals to coordinate and develop interagency responses to work together to address sexual assault by providing wrap-around support and communication.

Chapter 351 Subchapter J requires each commissioner's court of each county to establish an adult SART. They must have at least 7 required members and meet at least quarterly.

Bexar County SART members:

Alamo Area Rape Crisis Center (Presiding Officer)

Bexar County District Attorney's Office Prosecutor

San Antonio Police Department Chief

Bexar County Sheriff's Department

Texas Forensic Nursing of Excellence

Brooke Army Medical Center

Christus Children's Hospital of San Antonio

Joint Base San Antonio

Bexar County Criminal Investigation Laboratory

Bexar County Department of Behavioral Health

South Texas Regional Advisory Council

#### 6. Program Updates

# A. Updates:

#### 1. AACOG Grant Writing Training- Law Enforcement Oct. 22, 2024

This was a big success. We had 31 in attendance and the feedback was very good. The AACOG P25 multiband reference guide was passed out.

#### 2. NextZen Platform Set up.

Testing has begun and JAG is almost complete for testing. We will check to make sure that everything is working from each role (Applicant, Reviewer, Administrative).

#### 3. Grant Summary Form Set up

Additional questions are being added to the Grant summary forms for VOCA and Truancy Prevention programs and will be available for NextZen testing for applicant and reviewer roles.

## 4. Funding Update- JAG

Beginning the week of 10-24-24, the JAG grant award notifications began going out for all 18 recommended for funding-some are active, some are in award preparation or administrative review for final award status to be changed to active grant status.

# **B.** Upcoming Trainings

- 1. Law Enforcement Grant Writing 101 at AACOG- December 12-13, 2024 class is \$499 per seat. This is also at the ART training room. All day class. 15 seats have been filled. Please reach out should you have any questions or need registration information.
- 2. Mandatory Grant Workshop #1-Dec 17, 2024 1pm-4pm.

## 7. Discussion and appropriate action on membership items:

1. Re-Nominating **Rosa Lavender** as primary representing Kerr County.

A motion was made by **Lt**, **Mary Krebs** and seconded by **Chief Linette Dury** to accept the above membership item.

## All Approved, Motion Carried.

- 1. Nominating **Sheriff Emmett Shelton**, as primary replacing Louis Lem representing McMullen County.
- 2. Nominating **Deputy Michael Ratteree**, as alternate to Sheriff Emmett Shelton representing McMullen County
- 3. Nominating **Lt. Braxton Roemer, to** replace Brian Vorauer, as alternate for Hattie Allen representing Gillespie County

A motion was made by **Chief Linette Dury** and seconded by **Ms. Rosa Lavender** to accept the above membership items

## 8. Discussion and Appropriate action on CJAC/Grantee Event Calendar

The previously discussed changes were shown, and no further changes were suggested.

A motion was made by **Ms. Samantha Wohler** and seconded by **Ms. Vickie Ernst** to approve the CJAC/Grantee Event Calendars.

#### All Approved, Motion Carried

#### 9. Announcements

None

#### 10. Items to be placed on the next meeting's agenda.

Discussion on adding the addendum for P25 reference guide to the grant guidelines.

## 11. Next meeting date: Wednesday December 11th, 2024 - at 1:30pm.

## 12. Adjournment

A motion was made by Chief Linette Dury and seconded by Ms. Vickie Ernst to adjourn.

All Approved, the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:53 PM.